Quotes, The Art Gallery

My love for Van Gogh

What to talk about Van Gogh? There is not enough words, just a bunch of feelings and strange sounds that one makes when seeing something awesome and epic.
That’s Van Gogh for you: awesome and epic and also a little bit sad.
Me and my friends are always saying how he is a misunderstood soul.
If you have read anything he wrote, mainly his letters to his brother Theo, then you can understand why. (if you are interested, they are available online)

Van Gogh dared to be himself, to paint whatever his soul felt like painting, even when people mocked him and said what he did was not art.
And for that(and for being a bit eccentric too lol) he led a life of rejection, both personally and professionally, and never achieved recognition in life.
Reading his thoughts, his sensibility, his passion for Nature and art is cruel sometimes, when you know that despite trying and trying and putting everything in what he believed he still ended as an unhappy man.

“Occasionally, in times of worry, I’ve longed to be stylish, but on second thought I say no—just let me be myself—and express rough, yet true things with rough workmanship.”

It’s a bless that he is remembered now, and loved deeply by so many people.
(If someone invents a time machine, please, send Vincent van Gogh someone to make him happy. Also, no mystery as why one of my favorite episodes of Doctor Who is the one with him.)

cafe-terrace-place-du-forum-arles-1888(1).jpg!PinterestLarge
Terrace of a Cafe at Night, 1888. – It’s also a wonder to see how his style changed and developed drastically over his life

Honestly, his quotes and words are between my favorites and despite all the shitstorm of his life, he says wise things and beautiful things and meaningful things. And whenever I read more about him, the more I love him and the more I find parts of myself reflected in his words. (AND THE MORE I CRY BECAUSE PURE SOUL)

His love for life, his vision of the world and how he translated all that to colors and paint is a treasure and one of the most precious and beautiful pieces of art we have the chance to see. It also inspires me to do the same, to put myself entirely in what I do and believe in that.

“Love many things, for therein lies the true strength, and whosoever loves much performs much, and can accomplish much, and what is done in love is done well.” 

landscape-with-couple-walking-and-crescent-moon-1890(1).jpg!Large
Landscape with Couple Walking and Crescent Moon, 1890 (I saw this one up close!!! *sighs*) – And curiosity time! This picture have the depiction of a man and a woman who, according to my art teacher who studies his works and life, are actually Van Gogh and one of the women he loved.
You see, he painted himself in blue and she in yellow because those are complementary colors and he felt they were complementary souls and he only wanted a happy family. WHY WHY COULDN’T THIS LOVELY SOUL BE HAPPY?

But yes, I love him and I love his work. What about you? Do you also have some artist who you love deeply and feel a connection to? Do they also led miserable lifes? Do you also want to put them in a little jar and take care of them and give them love?

2 thoughts on “My love for Van Gogh”

Leave a Reply (or your soul)

